Clear/Reset

Parent Previous Next

This option allows you to Clear / Reset all transactions and / or balances within a Set of Books on your system. This process has exactly the same actions as Start → Delete Set of Books, as far as all your data regarding your transactions, batch entries, etc. will be permanently removed from the system.

The only difference is, that when you use Setup → Tools → Global processes → Clear / Reset, you will still be able to access the Set of Books from the Start → Open Set of Books. All your data that was originally set up for your Set of Books such as your account codes, stock codes and selling prices, debtor accounts, creditor accounts, contacts, reporting groups, etc. will still be available.

It is recommended to make sufficient backups of your data before using this option. If you used Setup → Tools → Global processes  → Clear / Reset by accident, you need to restore your Set of Books from the backup disks. You may also have to enter any transactions from your last backup until you have used Setup → Tools → Global processes → Clear / Reset, unless you have not processed any transactions since your last backup.

Before you clear / reset a Set of Books from your system, please make sure that all the necessary reports are printed and retained together with the necessary supporting documents such as slips, cheques, invoices, etc. to substantiate your profit from the business have submitted on your Tax returns. You must remember, even if you are a small business, you need to keep the necessary records for five (5) years, commencing from the date of receipt of the last applicable Tax return for audit and record purposes. In addition to this, other legislative and / or statutory requirements, may also be applicable to your specific business type and / or industry.

You must be completely sure when you Clear / Reset a Set of Books, as the transactions and balances and stock quantities and cost prices will be permanently lost.

There are two options to clear or reset a Set of Books:

1.Clear / Reset all transactions and balances in a Set of Books. No transactions, documents or any balances will be available in the Set of Books.

2.To Clear / Reset all the transactions and and retain all sales documents (i.e. invoices, credit notes, quotes) and all purchase documents (purchases, supplier returns and orders).  

To Clear / Reset all transactions and balances:

1.On the Setup ribbon, select Tools → Global processes → Clear / Reset menu. The following confirmation screen is displayed:

2.If you are absolutely sure, tick the "I have read this instruction and understand the action!" field. The Yes and No buttons will be available on this screen.

If you click on the No button, the process will be cancelled.

3.Click on the Yes button only if you are absolutely sure. Another confirmation screen is displayed:

On this screen you have the last chance to cancel the clearing process. If you click on the Yes button, the process will be terminated.

4.Click on the No button to clear / reset the Set of Books. The following confirmation screen is displayed:

5.If you do not want to reset clear the quantities, etc. of stock items, click on the No button.

If you click on the Yes button, all stock values will permanently be lost.

6.The following confirmation screen is displayed:

7.If you click on the Yes button, all transactions, documents and balances in a Set of Books will be deleted. No transactions, documents or any balances will be available in the Set of Books.

If you click on the No button, all the transactions and balances will be cleared reset to zero. All sales documents (i.e. invoices, credit notes, quotes) and all purchase documents (purchases, supplier returns and orders) will be retained and be available in Action → Documents.  

Created with the Personal Edition of HelpNDoc: News and information about help authoring tools and software